Ceva reveals finalist for Animal Welfare Awards

Ceva Animal Health has revealed its finalists for the Ceva Animal Welfare Awards 2020.

The awards celebrate the achievements of people who go above and beyond to improve animal health and welfare in the UK and abroad. 

Spanning 10 categories, the shortlist for the 2020 Ceva Animal Welfare Awards is as follows:

Chris Laurence Vet of the Year Award sponsored by Vet Record
•    Jade Statt, Street Vet
•    Joseph Angell, Wern Veterinary Surgeons, North Wales
•    Elizabeth Ormerod, Society for Companion Animal Studies (SCAS)

Vet Nurse of the Year Award sponsored by Agria Pet Insurance
•    Danielle Pountain, Pool House Veterinary Hospital, Lichfield, Staffordshire
•    Kylie Bradshaw, Byron Vets Surgery, Nottingham
•    Lynsey Tindall, New Priory Vets, Brighton

Charity Team of the Year sponsored by PDSA
•    Street Paws, Blyth
•    Cavy Corner, Doncaster
•    Care for the Paw, Knutsford, Cheshire

Charitable Contribution of the Year sponsored by Blue Cross
•    Amazing Greys Team, Hope Rescue, Llanharan
•    Street Vet
•    Pauline Kidner, Secret World Wildlife Rescue, Somerset

Farmer of the Year Award sponsored by R.A.B.I. and Farmers Guardian
•    Jack Foulkes, Angelsey
•    Rob Goodwin, Swadlincote, Derbyshire

Farm Educator of the Year – sponsored by NADIS and Farmers Guardian
•    Ellie Button, Howells Veterinary Services, Easingwold, Yorkshire
•    Mark Pass, Beeston Animal Health, Tarporley, Cheshire
•    Emily Gascoigne, Synergy Animal Health, Evershot, Dorset

International Cat Care Welfare Award
International Cat Care will be choosing the winner of this award from its extensive membership base.  The winner will be announced at the awards’ ceremony.

The judges have granted three awards in recognition of an individual or team’s commitment to animal welfare.  The Outstanding Contribution to Animal Welfare Award sponsored by Your Dog and Your Cat magazines and the Outstanding International Contribution to Animal Welfare sponsored by Ceva International will be announced on the night of the awards.  A Special Recognition Award will also be presented during the evening.

Chair of the judging panel, Chris Laurence, said: “The profile of animal welfare has increased in recent years with the general public becoming more aware of a broad range of issues.  It is no surprise, therefore, that the judges were once again impressed by the level of commitment to animal welfare shown by the nominations for all the awards.  There are so many people who dedicate their lives and leisure time to helping to improve the lives of animals in a huge variety of ways.  Consequently, choosing the finalists, let alone a winner in each category is a daunting task that the judging panel tackles with enthusiasm.”

Winners will be revealed and presented with their awards at a ceremony held in Birmingham ahead of BSAVA Congress on 1st April 2020.